The York (Highland Park)

StarStarStarStarStar

I’ve been here a handful of times now.  Not once have I left
disappointed.   This is my favorite Gastropub primarily because they
serve awesome Beer, they serve up an epic Hamburger and the music
coming from the jukebox isn’t Lady Gaga, Lil Wayne, Pitbull, etc.  If I
knew the world were going to come to an end, my last moments would be
spent here with a brew in one hand, their Burger in the other and The
End (-The Doors) playing in the background.  Okay okay… maybe I’m
stretching it a little.  But you get the picture.  

Pros:  Food –
Their CHEDDAR HAMBURGER is on my Mt. Rushmore
           of
Burgers.  The only other burger I dare say in the same
         
 breath is the #1 at 25°.  The Burger is simply delicious and
     
     mouthwateringly juicy.  The patty is full of blissfully beefy
           goodness.  No tomatoes or lettuce here.  The Beef takes
           center stage.  It comes on a warmed Brioche Bun that’s been
           slathered with Harissa Aioli and topped with Cheddar,
pickled
           onions and arugula.  Any burger aficionado would
truly
           appreciate this delight.  The CUBAN SANDWICH is
really good
           too, as are the FISH N CHIPS.  You can’t go
wrong with any of
           these offerings but for your first
visit, the BURGER IS A MUST.
           Other items I recommend are
the SPICY FRIED GARBANZO
           BEANS (these snacks are highly
addictive) and the PEACH
           COBBLER – IF THEY STILL HAVE
THE PEACH TREE OUT
           BACK AND ITS IN SEASON.

     
     BEER –  Several on tap and more bottled.  Some available
     
     include Leffe Blonde, Guinness, Franziskaner Hef,
         
 Boddington’s,  Stella, 1903, Allagash, Chimay, Stone IPA, etc.  
   
       They do rotate their kegs so some of the aforementioned
   
       beers may not be available at all times but that just means
           another quality brew will be available.  The York also
serves
          "CASK CONDITIONED" BEER.  It is not poured as cold
as the
           other brews on tap but it is certainly more
flavorful.  It’s not for
           everyone but a treat if you can
find a bar that offers it up.  

            ATMOSPHERE –  A
very DIVERSE & ECLECTIC CROWD.  I
            don’t know where
they all come from, but I’m glad they do.  
            Everyone is
usually having a great time and is courteous and
           
respectful of each other.  Picture in your mind, if you will, all the
            leaders of the world convened here and in their youth.
 Now,
            remove all the politics and insert Alcohol here.
 It’s just
            harmonious in there seeing everyone having a
"Can’t we all
            just get along," moment.  Rodney King
would be proud.  :o)

Cons: PARKING does suck. No question about
that.  Get there early
           enough and you will find parking
but you have to feed the
           meter every hour, although the
sign says 1 hr max parking (At
           your own risk people).
 The later it gets, the harder it is to find
           parking.
 At this point, you’ll be 1 long block away.  Good luck!

       
   LIMITED SEATING – I have wanted to come here later in the
     
     evening to eat and drink but the lack of tables has kept me
 
         away.  The place does fill up and at that point you have to
hover
           around a table and hope you can nab it before
someone else
           does.  My advice; if you want a table, get
there before 8:00pm.    

Indifferences –

         
 ORDER EVERYTHING AT THE BAR – I don’t hate having to do
         
 it, I just wish I didn’t have to.  Gets kind of annoying having to
           get up several times to put orders in.  

         
 COCKTAILS – Most of the cocktails are prepared with a heavy
       
   hand.  So what’s the problem, you ask?  Nothing if you want to
 
         get drunk like a skunk.  But when I order a cocktail, I want a

           cocktail, not a concoction of shots thrown together
with no
           balance to it whatsoever.  The only cocktail I
had that was
           actually WELL-MADE and refreshing was a
SAGE GIMLET.  I
           believe it had muddled cucumber, sage and
gin in it.

Needless to say, I will be back.  Though I always
gravitate towards the Burger on my visits here, I will make it a point
to try other items on the menu and when I do, I will share my findings.
 I hope you are still the way I remember you, York.  See you soon!


Fried Spicy Garbanzo Beans.

Chicken Wings – Soy, Onion, Garlic & Spicy Vinegar.



[Thee] Cheddar Burger – Harissa Aioli, Pickled Onion & Rocket with Fries.   

This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment